Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Model Specific > Hardbody Forum (D21)

Old 06-26-2021, 06:04 PM   #1
Jason Bourne

Vehicle: 1993 Nissan D21 2WD 2.4L MT
Default AC not cooling (searching for wisdom)

My son recently purchased a 1993 single cab 2.4 truck that the AC was not working on so he took it to a shop for them to look at. They vacuumed out the old Freon, and added new Freon and die for a cost of $180. The AC lasted about 4 days. Obviously there is a leak.

He took it back and they looked with their UV light but said they could not see where any of the die had leaked out. Their suggestion was to replace the compressor, expansion valve, and dryer for a cost of $1800 dollars. This is shotgun troubleshooting to me, and my son canít afford $1800. I have never worked on AC stuff before but Iím ready to learn.

We did go out and get a UV light to look for ourselves. I looked at the compressor and all of the lines but didnít see any dye. We pulled the glovebox and blower resistor to look at the Evap coil and expansion valve. We didnít see any die but we couldnít really see all of the evap coil. I looked at the condenser coil but didnít see anything. I wasnít able to see all of the coil with the radiator and grill installed.

The truck was sitting for at least 5 yrs before he bought it.

What are some recommendations on where to start?

Iím thinking maybe all of the orings might be dried up and need replacing. I have read the orings need to be lubricated when replaced. Is there some type of special grease that you use?

I can get a loaner pump and gauges from the parts store. Is there a way to vacuum leak check the components like the evap coil and condenser coil separately? I would like to be able to verify a bad part rather than just guessing.

Any guidance that can be given would be greatly appreciated.
Jason Bourne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 09:21 PM   #2
YEPEE

Vehicle: 86.5 HB,95 HB, 02 Sentra Spec-V