Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Tech Area > Engine and Drivetrain

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2009, 12:29 AM   #1
Thor
Canadian Retired AdmIN
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Age: 34
Posts: 1,230
Vehicle: 88 Hardbody
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default VG30i to VG30DE or VG33E?

Looking at swapping out my blown VG30i to the DE. Are the engine mounts in the same location? Will the exhaust manifolds bolt up or will the exhaust have to be moved?

Figured just get the harness and computer and just change the whole damn thing.

Any thoughts?
__________________
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 01:00 AM   #2
turtlehead
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: putnam county ny
Age: 37
Posts: 282
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

mounts are sameish, not exact, but close enough to work.

exhaust is different, but just make something work? you have v8 in one, whats some exhaust work?

im pretty sure you can swap the truck pan onto de also, just have to mod a pickup tube to work.

you are gonna have some trans issues, one crank is 8 bolt, one is 6 bolt, where the flywheel/flexplate bolts on.

are you running auto or manual? where is the starter located?

i know the car stuff, not to familiar with the truck trans and starter.
turtlehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 01:44 AM   #3
Thor
Canadian Retired AdmIN
 
Thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Age: 34
Posts: 1,230
Vehicle: 88 Hardbody
Thanks: 5
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Default

My dad is looking at swapping out his blown 30i and just seeing what options are available. Since I'll be doing it in my free time just trying to get an idea of the work involved. Probably will just swap it out to an 30e

Is there any similarity between the 30e and the 33e?
__________________
Thor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 03:07 AM   #4
turtlehead
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: putnam county ny
Age: 37
Posts: 282
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i think the only issue with 33 is the accesories use a different belt setup, and the crank/crank pullies are different.

your options are to make 33 p/s pump, a/c comp, and alt work with your vehicle, or swap in 30 crank and then the 30 stuff will bolt onto 33 engine.
turtlehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 03:38 AM   #5
Mr.Ryan
Retired Mod
 
Mr.Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh
Age: 39
Posts: 2,015
Vehicle: 1988 std cab HB
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

so all the accy parts won't swap over? bummer I am pulling A 33 out of a 98 pathy at work this week and was going to repair it (timing set head gaskets and knock sensor) and trow it in my truck, maybe, I'm still workin on this 350 I got sitting here too, not sure which to use, I thought maybe the 33 since it would utilize the same motor mounts as a 30, oh well.
__________________

Mr.Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 04:01 AM   #6
SeanG
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: West Michigan
Age: 35
Posts: 264
Vehicle: 1997 HB XE 4x4 ka24e 5sp
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Here is a great link...http://nissannut.com/maintenance/vg33e_upgrade/ It's for a vg30e to 33e upgrade. IDK if the 30e and 30i are the same, but the link has some really nice comparison pics and inside info. It was the first thing that came to mind.

You should keep the vg30i intake manifold around if you scrap the motor. It can be milled down to accept a 2bbl carb and is good for swapping in vg's into cars like Datsun 510's. A 2bbl vg will run like an escaped criminal. I have proof of this. Here is a video of a carbed vg30 revving up in a garage... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dGLtSPwdu8g I love the way it sounds/responds. Here is the same engine under load and accellerating... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=foI5q...er_profilepage

Last edited by SeanG; 10-20-2009 at 04:15 AM.
SeanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 04:11 AM   #7
barney_motor_sports
NISSANFREAK
 
barney_motor_sports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Delaware
Age: 47
Posts: 3
Vehicle: 93 Nissan Hardbody
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

you doin the vg30de or the vg30e? it kinda makes a major difference. the vg30e can be done. if your intersted let me know i can help. the major differences are the changeover from 2 injectors in the throttle body to 6 in the vg30e, and the maf sensors are different as well as the ecu's

barney_motor_sports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2009, 05:21 AM   #8
nismopu
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: vantucky, wa
Age: 37
Posts: 324
Vehicle: 76 datto 620, 76 280z(turbo), 87 nissan 300zx turbo
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

woah barney! havent seen ya on this forum! Your swap inspired a friend of mines a few years back. Good to see yours is still on the road.
__________________
nismopu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 12:22 AM   #9
1Fastkingcab
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 93
Vehicle: 1994/5 Kingcab's
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

If your swapping from a VG30i to a VG30E everything will bolt up from the VG30i you will need to use a D21 VG30E wiring harness and ECU. the wiring isn't that bad if you treat the ecu as if it was a true standalone ECU. there are only about 7-10 wires to splice. if you plan on chipping the ECU you can get away with less.

If you want so make it simple you can just use a VG30 long block, and you can use your VG30i intake on the VG30E longblock

You can do the vg33 swap either way for EFI you can use the D21 engine harness & ecu, or Keep you VG30I intake & TBI on top of the VG33 but with the VG33 you will need to run ALL the VG33 accessories (because of the timing belt system)
__________________
1995 Kingcab (Under construction)

Last edited by 1Fastkingcab; 11-21-2009 at 12:33 AM.
1Fastkingcab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 03:32 AM   #10
turtlehead
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: putnam county ny
Age: 37
Posts: 282
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Fastkingcab View Post
If your swapping from a VG30i to a VG30E everything will bolt up from the VG30i you will need to use a D21 VG30E wiring harness and ECU. the wiring isn't that bad if you treat the ecu as if it was a true standalone ECU. there are only about 7-10 wires to splice. if you plan on chipping the ECU you can get away with less.

If you want so make it simple you can just use a VG30 long block, and you can use your VG30i intake on the VG30E longblock

You can do the vg33 swap either way for EFI you can use the D21 engine harness & ecu, or Keep you VG30I intake & TBI on top of the VG33 but with the VG33 you will need to run ALL the VG33 accessories (because of the timing belt system)
accessories have nothing to do with the timing belt.

its becuase the crank/crank pulley are different and the belts wont line up with 30 accessories.
turtlehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.