Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Tech Area > Interior & Audio/Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2018, 07:26 PM   #1
Gordo78
I'm The Juggernaut B&#@^!
 
Gordo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW Kansas
Age: 30
Posts: 1,731
Vehicle: 91 HB
Thanks: 123
Thanked 238 Times in 210 Posts
Default Bed Mounted Stereo Wiring

Hey Dudes,

I'm building a nice center console setup with 2 8" Kicker Solo Classic subs. I have 3 Alpine amplifiers to power everything, but not much room in a single cab to mount them. I want to do an amp rack at the front of the bed so they're easier to mount (plus they will look nice for show season). Anyways, has anyone done this, and if so, what did you do for wiring? I was thinking I'd run the amplifier wiring down the frame and up into one of the drain holes in the bed up front. But the remote wires and RCA's might be tougher (not to mention speaker wires for all 4 speakers and 2 subs). I guess I could do a grommet in the back wall of the cab of some type, or maybe an accordion like on the doors. Thoughts?

BTW I have a camper shell now, and it does lock. Truck is a play truck, and is parked in the garage every night. Might get driven 2 times a week. Not worried about theft or anything in my small town, especially when it's locked in the bed.
__________________
Gordo78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 07:52 PM   #2
jp2code
Software Developer
 
jp2code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Longview, TX [USA]
Age: 49
Posts: 8,685
Vehicle: 94 LB 2x4 Manual VG33e
Thanks: 1,247
Thanked 1,081 Times in 953 Posts
Default

You could try one of these little truck bed boxes:

Lowes 30.5x13.5x10 Black Steel Mid Size Truck Tool Box 1000154095 $54.28



My ex got one of these for her Frontier several years ago at Walmart. It was a plastic version, and I don't think Walmart carries that particular one anymore, but it's been very useful.

You could bolt that dude to the bed, mount your amps in there where they'd stay dry, then run your wiring down through some little hole you'd have to drill in the bottom.
__________________
Joe (not a mechanic!) Don't have an account? EMAIL ME
Free Service Manuals: https://ownersmanuals2.com/make/nissan
Walk-through: Checking Nissan Trouble Codes
1994 VG30E to VG33E with H256 Cams

jp2code is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 07:55 PM   #3
jp2code
Software Developer
 
jp2code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Longview, TX [USA]
Age: 49
Posts: 8,685
Vehicle: 94 LB 2x4 Manual VG33e
Thanks: 1,247
Thanked 1,081 Times in 953 Posts
Default

Crap. I meant to Preview, not submit.

Anyway, here's one really similar to what my ex has on Walmart:

PowerPacker 45-Gallon Truck Box/Cargo Bin $44.98

__________________
Joe (not a mechanic!) Don't have an account? EMAIL ME
Free Service Manuals: https://ownersmanuals2.com/make/nissan
Walk-through: Checking Nissan Trouble Codes
1994 VG30E to VG33E with H256 Cams

jp2code is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 08:49 PM   #4
Gordo78
I'm The Juggernaut B&#@^!
 
Gordo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW Kansas
Age: 30
Posts: 1,731
Vehicle: 91 HB
Thanks: 123
Thanked 238 Times in 210 Posts
Default

Not looking for a bed box, just asking about how one would do the wiring being that it's back in the bed. I'll build a amp rack from MDF when I do it. I have a topper, it will be dry.
__________________
Gordo78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 10:16 PM   #5
alabama_lowlife
Owner and Administrator
 
alabama_lowlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jack, alabama
Age: 39
Posts: 8,879
Vehicle: 2011 Nissan Frontier, 08 altima, 1970 Datsun 521, 1995 Nissan Hardbody
Thanks: 567
Thanked 1,556 Times in 1,270 Posts
Default

There are grommets in the floor of the cab that you could use without having to add more holes and grommets.
__________________
alabama_lowlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 04:05 AM   #6
Gordo78
I'm The Juggernaut B&#@^!
 
Gordo78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW Kansas
Age: 30
Posts: 1,731
Vehicle: 91 HB
Thanks: 123
Thanked 238 Times in 210 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alabama_lowlife View Post
There are grommets in the floor of the cab that you could use without having to add more holes and grommets.
Have any thoughts for a wire loom or similar that could actually protect 3 sets of RCA's and speaker wire for 6 speakers?
__________________
Gordo78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 05:08 AM   #7
Tomakze
 
Tomakze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: CO
Posts: 49
Vehicle: 1990 2WD D21
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I did this setup for a guy with an S10 a couple years ago. I just drilled a hole in the bed, and ran my wires through it with a big grommet. Worked out great. And the window on the amp rack keeps the amps dry if it rains!

https://www.instagram.com/p/BFXs6tREF7O/
__________________
Professional Car Audio technician and fabricator, as well as a Nissan/Datsun fanatic

-1970 Datsun 2000 Fairlady Roadster (resto in progress)
-1990 Nissan Hardbody 2wd 4cyl (DD and project)
-2014 Ford Fiesta (DD and audio system demo vehicle)
Tomakze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 10:08 AM   #8
alabama_lowlife
Owner and Administrator
 
alabama_lowlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jack, alabama
Age: 39
Posts: 8,879
Vehicle: 2011 Nissan Frontier, 08 altima, 1970 Datsun 521, 1995 Nissan Hardbody
Thanks: 567
Thanked 1,556 Times in 1,270 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordo78 View Post
Have any thoughts for a wire loom or similar that could actually protect 3 sets of RCA's and speaker wire for 6 speakers?
Standard plastic wire loom wrapped in electrical tape should be plenty of protection. The factory wiring is done this way and holds up quite well. It's also important to make sure that the harness is securely routed such that it cannot chafe anything or be caught by moving parts like the driveshaft. There should also be sufficient slack to permit flexing, but only between areas that flex. Like between the cab and frame, then between the frame and bed.
__________________
alabama_lowlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 10:41 AM   #9
jp2code
Software Developer
 
jp2code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Longview, TX [USA]
Age: 49
Posts: 8,685
Vehicle: 94 LB 2x4 Manual VG33e
Thanks: 1,247
Thanked 1,081 Times in 953 Posts
Default

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LYF1GDV

I'm thinking something like that. You can wrap thick bundles.

I had to modify this wiring on a motorcycle I used to have:



Cut that factory loom off (it sure was nice looking) to modify my wiring:



Then wrapped it back up with spiral wrap.



That spiral wrap is amazingly flexible in what size it accommodates.
__________________
Joe (not a mechanic!) Don't have an account? EMAIL ME
Free Service Manuals: https://ownersmanuals2.com/make/nissan
Walk-through: Checking Nissan Trouble Codes
1994 VG30E to VG33E with H256 Cams

jp2code is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 04:43 AM   #10
Pswatzell
1990 nissan custom overlo
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Greeneville
Age: 41
Posts: 22
Vehicle: 1990 nissan d21 hardbody
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thumbs down

I love those rims and what size are they the rim part. I've been l looking for awhile and just about to give but would like to know where you got them
Pswatzell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.