Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Tech Area > Interior & Audio/Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2018, 05:23 PM   #1
burn
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 31
Vehicle: 1990 hb kc
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Default Dumb question #401

My 1990 kc has no trip meter or tach.can i buy a guage cluster with them in there and will trip meter work off speedo cable?also what do i need for tach to work,it is a manual trans
burn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 09:27 PM   #2
cadillacdude1975
The Gear Jammer
 
cadillacdude1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 46
Posts: 8,447
Vehicle: 87 D21 SE KC V6 2wd 5sp & 86.5 V6 SE auto
Thanks: 300
Thanked 932 Times in 864 Posts
Default

The trip meter is actually an added part to the existing speedo head. I had to change mine. It was broken.

The tach can be added to your cluster or you can replace the cluster. The SE clusters had the tach, volt meter, dual fuel gauges, oil pressure and temp readings. The tach should be plug and play, but nissan used a few different connectors over the years for the tach. Be sure you get the correct one. And if you do swap in an SE cluster, the oil pressure gauge won’t work as the light and pressure gauge used different sending units.
__________________
"Im officially lost" - wildbill
cadillacdude1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 11:47 PM   #3
burn
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 31
Vehicle: 1990 hb kc
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

or mechanicaldoes that mean the trip meter will work with speedo that came without meter?
is there a cable i have to buy for tach and is it electric i
burn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 03:56 AM   #4
cadillacdude1975
The Gear Jammer
 
cadillacdude1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 46
Posts: 8,447
Vehicle: 87 D21 SE KC V6 2wd 5sp & 86.5 V6 SE auto
Thanks: 300
Thanked 932 Times in 864 Posts
Default

The faceplate has to be changed to the trip meter one. I have to go to work, but I can snap a few pictures of my spare cluster when I get home. The trip meter assembly attaches to the bottom of the existing speedometer housing.

And the tach is electrical. There is a loose plug on the back of your main cluster pigtail. It is should be a two wire plug.
__________________
"Im officially lost" - wildbill
cadillacdude1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
burn (03-10-2018), swampyankee (03-10-2018)
Old 03-10-2018, 10:26 AM   #5
burn
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 31
Vehicle: 1990 hb kc
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dumb question #401

thanks thats a big help
burn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 02:43 PM   #6
Reserector
the Flaming Marshmallow
 
Reserector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Laurel, MS
Posts: 1,376
Vehicle: Nissan HB KC 4x4
Thanks: 10
Thanked 306 Times in 247 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillacdude1975 View Post
the oil pressure gauge won’t work as the light and pressure gauge used different sending units.
Change the sensor in the block.
Reserector is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.