Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Infamous Nissan > General Discussion

Old 01-24-2020, 04:15 AM   #1
Bman2895

Vehicle: 1989 Nissan D21 4x4
Default 1989 Z24i questions.

So I want to run a few things by you guys. First off i am new and plan on a introduction post, but wanted to get this post up here while it was on my mind.

So I just bought the truck from my work. 1989 z24i 4x4. Its 100% an ugly duckling but i love its character. heres "quick" questions. I apologize in advance i like to thoroughly context my questions.

first off as im new to this engine. any things or issues specific to this engine i need to be aware of and check on?

Can the Z24i safely run on one of its coils? The truck barely revved out when i got it and acted like a low rev limiter. so i did some reading and traced it to the coils, It came with new coils and modules, but for some reason they didnt work period? wouldnt even fire. anyway. hooking the old back up i swapped the coils around and ta da, now it runs way better and revs out well, though i do still have the exhaust side unhooked. will this hurt anything? will having the exhaust coil firing increase performance?