Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Tech Area > Wiring and Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2018, 12:51 AM   #1
Drifttruck
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Okc
Posts: 11
Vehicle: Nissan se-v6 d21 1992
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Supercharger on stock ecu

Is it possible to run the Xterra supercharger on my d21 if I reset the ECU or will I have to buy a new ecu? Note that I do have vg33 heads on my vg30e block
Drifttruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 12:55 AM   #2
jp2code
Software Developer
 
jp2code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Longview, TX [USA]
Age: 49
Posts: 8,594
Vehicle: 94 LB 2x4 Manual VG33e
Thanks: 1,225
Thanked 1,074 Times in 946 Posts
Default

I don't know anyone on here who has tried it.

It seems like the Xterra supercharger has it's own set of sensors, fuel rail, intake manifold, and injectors.

So, if you do it, make sure you are comfortable with splicing the wires on the existing wiring harness to try and get the Xterra's wiring to play with what you have.

Before you do that, though, it seems like the supercharged VG33 only cranked out about 250 hp or so, and the non-supercharged VG33 was about 190. Not a huge difference for the amount of work involved.
__________________
Joe (not a mechanic!) Don't have an account? EMAIL ME
Free Service Manuals: https://ownersmanuals2.com/make/nissan
Walk-through: Checking Nissan Trouble Codes
1994 VG30E to VG33E with H256 Cams

jp2code is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
Drifttruck (09-02-2018)
Old 09-02-2018, 01:17 AM   #3
Deerhurst
4/86 SE-V6 2 tone 4x4 HB
 
Deerhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 5,105
Vehicle: 1986.5 Hardbody
Thanks: 704
Thanked 468 Times in 434 Posts
Default

Supercharged US VG33 was 210HP and NA was 180ish.



Why did you use VG33 heads? Do you have at least VG30 cams?



Send that ECM out to JWT for a tune.



I have similar plans. I want to drop a small blower on my VG33. I have a JDM VG33 with headers. The cam is unknown. It's definitely not US spec as I've driven rigs with a US VG33 and this thing is way more aggressive. My truck is TBI too so I need to source an ECM too.
__________________
1986.5 SE-V6 4X4 D21 Hardbody
Pacesetter Long Tube Headers
Morimoto Mini D2S HID Projectors and Hella 500s
VG33i
Deerhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
Drifttruck (09-02-2018)
Old 09-02-2018, 01:24 AM   #4
Drifttruck
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Okc
Posts: 11
Vehicle: Nissan se-v6 d21 1992
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm putting a supercharger on because I want a little more kick and I took the whole motor down to the block and I'm finally to the end and I already had the supercharger and my thought is I might as well since the engine is ready apart
Drifttruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 01:26 AM   #5
Drifttruck
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Okc
Posts: 11
Vehicle: Nissan se-v6 d21 1992
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I went with vg33 heads because I heard that they were better than the vg30e heads. And I did put my vg30e cams in them
Drifttruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 01:28 AM   #6
Drifttruck
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Okc
Posts: 11
Vehicle: Nissan se-v6 d21 1992
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

And I took the motor apart because I spun a main bearing so when I took it apart I just bought all new stuff for it so I wouldn't have to take it apart again any time soon
Drifttruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 01:23 PM   #7
kmanuel
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 617
Vehicle: 13 G37 Sport Daily on Air . 06 CC Sierra Bagged, 03 Tacoma current/upcoming project
Thanks: 15
Thanked 41 Times in 35 Posts
Default

Different engine and vehicle but a similar situation:

My 03 Tacoma 4 cyl. Factory had a TRD option of a supercharger similar to the Xterra available installed at the dealer.
My truck was a base model and did not have the SC installed.

I bought the SC from a company remaking them since TRD no longer does so.
5 PSI, no intercooler just like factory. Uses the stock ECM. Just had to disconnect battery to clear out all of the "memory" and let it relearn as I drove it.
As long as your current injectors have enough fuel, the small amount of boost that it will make with the oem pulley (need to verify that the crank pulley is the same size) is probably not enough that the ECM would not be able to compensate.
My situation (as advertised by the company selling the parts) took about 3 tanks of premium before it seemed to settle down and run really well. Idle characteristics took the longest to smooth out.
kmanuel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.