Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Model Specific > Hardbody Forum (D21)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2019, 08:24 AM   #1
becauseisaidso
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Vehicle: 91 D21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Radio Wiring Diagram??

91 Hardbody, trying to swap my stereo for an after market pioneer. Iíve wired up many a stereo in my day, however, after matching all the wire colors seemingly to what I pulled out, I get no power on the new deck, wonít turn on? Does anybody know the wiring colors for this thing, hereís what I have, just need to get them together!

Nissan:

Pink w/blue stripe
Pink w/black stripe
Red w/green stripe
Green w/white stripe
Solid black (small)
Black ground (larger)
Black w/white stripe
Solid Brown
Brown w/white stripe

Pioneer head deck harness:

Black ground
Solid yellow
Solid red
Solid green
Solid white
Solid purple
Solid grey
White/black stripe
Green/black stripe
Grey/black stripe
Purple/black stripe
Blue/white stripe

Any guesses how they match up??
becauseisaidso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 09:39 AM   #2
XoXSciFiGuy
 
XoXSciFiGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,465
Vehicle: 1997 D21 King Cab XE 2WD, 1998 Pathfinder.
Thanks: 157
Thanked 429 Times in 393 Posts
Default

Your old stereo...didn't you have the factory plug running it? Or was it funny-wired individually through a bundle of wires?
__________________

1997 King Cab XE, 5-sp, canopy, AC/PS, KA24E, 120,000 miles. Need a technical manual? Drop me a message. Chilton's for amateurs.
XoXSciFiGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 11:49 AM   #3
alabama_lowlife
Owner and Administrator
 
alabama_lowlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jack, alabama
Age: 40
Posts: 10,014
Vehicle: 2012 370Z, 1970 Datsun 521, 1995 Nissan Hardbody x2
Thanks: 866
Thanked 1,942 Times in 1,596 Posts
Default

Have you already cut off the factory connector? You should buy the adapter harness so you don’t have to cut off the factory connector.

Green/white is switched 12vdc
Red/green is constant 12vdc

Brown and brown/white is the left speaker.
Black and black/white is the right speaker.

Pink/blue is illumination +
Pink/black is illumination -
__________________
alabama_lowlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
SBJ (09-13-2019)
Old 09-12-2019, 02:14 PM   #4
PoBoi850
 
PoBoi850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 408
Vehicle: 88 Nissan Truck
Thanks: 130
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Default

If you don't have the Factory connector, I would visit my l9ocal scrap yard and get one, Solder it in to your truck, and then get a Wiring Kit for your Truck.
PoBoi850 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 06:36 PM   #5
becauseisaidso
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Vehicle: 91 D21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

So I think I have the factory one, I’ll take pictures later. I can’t really tell what the previous owner did, looks like maybe the factory one was still in there then they tapped into it for another one or something.
becauseisaidso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2019, 02:31 AM   #6
SBJ
Total Buzzkill
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: OR
Posts: 2,700
Vehicle: '90 D21 4cyl 5spd 2wd
Thanks: 299
Thanked 456 Times in 408 Posts
Default

This might help:

http://www.decibelcar.com/stereo-wir...eo-Wiring.html

The cool thing is that most aftermarket radios use a universal harness, so it's a one and done once you get it installed.

https://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/headunitharness.asp

Mine had the stereo ripped out of it many years before I owned it. I had to rewire everything from the ground up. You will probably need to add a ground for it to work. Just run a ground wire to the dash frame.
SBJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
highest_vision (09-14-2019)
Old 09-14-2019, 02:56 AM   #7
highest_vision
 
highest_vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Mountain Village CO USA
Posts: 349
Vehicle: 1995 Hardbody
Thanks: 43
Thanked 48 Times in 46 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SBJ View Post
You will probably need to add a ground for it to work. Just run a ground wire to the dash frame.
I want to highlight this. The person I bought my pickup from had just put a nice, high end radio in before I bought it. Nice install. Six months later (on a road trip of course), the display said something about a ground at key up, was fine for a few more starts, then flat lined. I had to replace the radio, and add a ground.
__________________
James
1995 Hardbody XE 4x4 5 speed [RIP]
1985 720 Z24 5 speed [sold]
Some 2 wheeled things

highest_vision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 03:10 AM   #8
rockcrawls
 
rockcrawls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: A bubble
Posts: 181
Vehicle: 1991 D21 4wd 4cyl, Case 580D backhoe loader
Thanks: 44
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I installed a stereo system I bought from crutchfeild in my truck. It came with a plug adapter. I know that doesn't help much but there is another data point. I have a small sub I put in the extra cab floor that can be picked up and moved freely and I mounted the amp center under the dash (under the ashtray area) in front of the shifters.


Yes I think I grounded mine too. The new stereo I got somehow detects the moment I touch the key to the ignition and lights up... I have no idea how it detects that tiny electricity change.


One reason I got a new stereo is the stock one had some bad grounding issues. The radio went out over time and if I turned it on it played the sound of the motor RPMs. The antenna has always been broken on my truck. I got a new one from the scrap yard but never installed it because it was a major PITA to run. Also had a bad connection to a door speaker that went in and out.
rockcrawls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 03:40 AM   #9
SBJ
Total Buzzkill
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: OR
Posts: 2,700
Vehicle: '90 D21 4cyl 5spd 2wd
Thanks: 299
Thanked 456 Times in 408 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockcrawls View Post
I installed a stereo system I bought from crutchfeild in my truck. It came with a plug adapter. I know that doesn't help much but there is another data point. I have a small sub I put in the extra cab floor that can be picked up and moved freely and I mounted the amp center under the dash (under the ashtray area) in front of the shifters.


Yes I think I grounded mine too. The new stereo I got somehow detects the moment I touch the key to the ignition and lights up... I have no idea how it detects that tiny electricity change.


One reason I got a new stereo is the stock one had some bad grounding issues. The radio went out over time and if I turned it on it played the sound of the motor RPMs. The antenna has always been broken on my truck. I got a new one from the scrap yard but never installed it because it was a major PITA to run. Also had a bad connection to a door speaker that went in and out.
It doesn't. There are actually 2 power feeds that it uses. The first is the constant power from the battery. It's a minute amount of electricity and is there so that it will remember your presets and things like that. The main power source for it is the switched power, which powers the stereo on when the key is in the accessory or on positions. Theoretically you could use any wire that is hot with the key on so long as it could handle the amount of current needed by the radio. I used the power wire for the cigarette lighter when I wired mine in. A lot of factory radios ground directly to the frame of the dash while aftermarket ones have a separate ground wire, hence the need for a separate ground point.
SBJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2019, 09:05 AM   #10
becauseisaidso
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 35
Vehicle: 91 D21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Ended up having a shop hook it up because I had it in there for something else. Radio works now, he said he had to run a new 12v line because what the last guy did screwed everything up. It works, but the brand new Fosgate speakers I put in sound like trash, like the highs distort and crackle. Tested polarity, probably an issue with the old speaker wire?
becauseisaidso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.