Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Tech Area > Interior & Audio/Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2021, 10:59 PM   #1
Salsapants27
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: TX
Posts: 28
Vehicle: 1992 Nissan D21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Gauge Cluster swap issues

Just swapped out my gauge for one with a tach from a 91 pathfinder. My speedometer is consistently 10 mph above what it should be. How do i go about setting it to the correct speed? Also, I can tell the tach isn't where it should be either. Would it be better to take it to the dealer and have them reset it (if they can)?
Salsapants27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 12:41 AM   #2
Deerhurst
4/86 SE-V6 2 tone 4x4 HB
 
Deerhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 7,368
Vehicle: 1986.5 SE-V6 4WD D21, 2003 Audi A4 Avant 3.0 Quattro
Thanks: 890
Thanked 902 Times in 821 Posts
Default

Did you get a tach from a V6 or 4cyl? Is your truck V6 or 4cyl?
__________________
1986.5 SE-V6 4X4 D21 Hardbody
Pacesetter Long Tube Headers
Morimoto Mini D2S HID Projectors and Hella 500s
VG33i
Deerhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 12:45 AM   #3
Salsapants27
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: TX
Posts: 28
Vehicle: 1992 Nissan D21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deerhurst View Post
Did you get a tach from a V6 or 4cyl? Is your truck V6 or 4cyl?
My truck is a 4 cyl but the tach is from a v6 i think. My cousin snagged it for me when he was at the junk yard.
Salsapants27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 01:18 AM   #4
89'HBV6
Ol'school Geek
 
89'HBV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Washington State
Posts: 476
Vehicle: 89' D21 KC SE V6 5spd 2WD - 87' D21 KC SE V6 5spd 2WD
Thanks: 497
Thanked 123 Times in 106 Posts
Default

Can't help with the tach... but I use a Garmin to tell me my speed. Far more accurate.

I suspect you'll need one from a 4cyl, for everything to work properly.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deerhurst
What he is saying it the aerodynamics of a D21 is a brick in the wind.
Probably at least as bad as a Jeep so worse than a cow.
89'HBV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2021, 02:46 AM   #5
Deerhurst
4/86 SE-V6 2 tone 4x4 HB
 
Deerhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 7,368
Vehicle: 1986.5 SE-V6 4WD D21, 2003 Audi A4 Avant 3.0 Quattro
Thanks: 890
Thanked 902 Times in 821 Posts
Default

You'll need a 4cyl cluster for the tach to work properly.



There may be a way to calibrate it but I have not ventured into that.
__________________
1986.5 SE-V6 4X4 D21 Hardbody
Pacesetter Long Tube Headers
Morimoto Mini D2S HID Projectors and Hella 500s
VG33i
Deerhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2021, 01:02 AM   #6
cadillacdude1975
The Gear Jammer
 
cadillacdude1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 48
Posts: 10,291
Vehicle: 87 VG33 Pathfinder SE 4x4 & 87 D21 SE
Thanks: 430
Thanked 1,300 Times in 1,182 Posts
Default

They have an adjustment pod on the back. Gotta take it out of the cluster to see the rheostat.
cadillacdude1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2021, 02:00 AM   #7
89'HBV6
Ol'school Geek
 
89'HBV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Washington State
Posts: 476
Vehicle: 89' D21 KC SE V6 5spd 2WD - 87' D21 KC SE V6 5spd 2WD
Thanks: 497
Thanked 123 Times in 106 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillacdude1975 View Post
They have an adjustment pod on the back. Gotta take it out of the cluster to see the rheostat.
...and I'm sure they had a "rig" that the cluster plugged into, for calibration.

So, how should he do the adjustment? At 20? 30 or 80MPH?


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deerhurst
What he is saying it the aerodynamics of a D21 is a brick in the wind.
Probably at least as bad as a Jeep so worse than a cow.
89'HBV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 11:28 PM   #8
Salsapants27
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: TX
Posts: 28
Vehicle: 1992 Nissan D21
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

It's all good. It shows a constant 10 mph higher than the speed, so I know where im at with it.
Salsapants27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2021, 12:41 AM   #9
alabama_lowlife
Owner and Administrator
 
alabama_lowlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jack, alabama
Age: 41
Posts: 10,388
Vehicle: 2012 370Z, 1970 Datsun 521, 1995 Nissan Hardbody x2
Thanks: 981
Thanked 2,069 Times in 1,699 Posts
Default

You may need a different pinion gear on the speed sensor. There are a couple different ones with different numbers of teeth.
__________________
alabama_lowlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.