Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Tech Area > Engine and Drivetrain

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2011, 02:50 AM   #21
SkinnyG
UYFBR
 
SkinnyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Okanagan Valley - Canada, eh?!
Posts: 1,500
Vehicle: 1994 Hardbody
Thanks: 0
Thanked 204 Times in 147 Posts
Default

If the condenser was punctured, obviously that. If it was punctured, then the system was exposed, so the drier should be replaced too. You can do the condenser, but save the drier (sealed) for the shop that will evacuate and charge the system.
SkinnyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 03:42 AM   #22
TheMistah
 
TheMistah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Inglewood
Posts: 270
Vehicle: NissanHBody 1988
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

How about seals and stuff like that since even before my minor accident the A/C didn't work.
TheMistah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 06:28 AM   #23
SkinnyG
UYFBR
 
SkinnyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Okanagan Valley - Canada, eh?!
Posts: 1,500
Vehicle: 1994 Hardbody
Thanks: 0
Thanked 204 Times in 147 Posts
Default

Oh, well then I have no idea. I'd be a smart ass and say something wasn't working.

A/C is one of those things that if you don't have the proper test equipment (like, checking for leaks), take it to someone who does. Without pin-pointing the problem, you'd just be throwing money and parts at it and hoping something sticks.
SkinnyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 06:21 AM   #24
-FROST-
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: cali
Posts: 6
Vehicle: 1988 D21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

nice write up!! i cant wait to get started on mines..
-FROST- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 10:54 PM   #25
-FROST-
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: cali
Posts: 6
Vehicle: 1988 D21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

okay, i have a 93 hb and a 93 pathy.. will the pathy ac compressor will work in a hb or is it different? sorry for the noob question..
-FROST- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 12:29 AM   #26
SkinnyG
UYFBR
 
SkinnyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Okanagan Valley - Canada, eh?!
Posts: 1,500
Vehicle: 1994 Hardbody
Thanks: 0
Thanked 204 Times in 147 Posts
Default

V6 and 4 cyl pumps are different. Whether pathy & hardbody pumps are different within the same engine, I don't know.
__________________
No longer an active member - The Hideous Hardbody has been sold
SkinnyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:54 PM   #27
-FROST-
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: cali
Posts: 6
Vehicle: 1988 D21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkinnyG View Post
Things you will need to get, most of which can be used:

1. Compressor
2. Compressor bracket with belt tension idler
3. Pressure line to Condenser (and support bracket)
4. Condenser
5. Drier (buy new, such as Four Seasons #33582) & Dual Pressure Switch
6. Hard line from Drier to Evaporator
7. Evaporator and housing (Buy a new Expansion Valve, such as Four Seasons #38637)
8. Suction line to Compressor
9. A/C Relay #1 (mounted on RH inner fender closest to firewall)
10. A/C Relay #2 (mounted in fuse box middle)
11. A/C Switch on dash
12. Evaporator drain hose and grommet
13. Evaporator firewall grommet
14. New O-Rings
15. (not shown) A/C belt - Dayco #17340 fit my truck


okay, so number 11..do i also need the wire harness that connects to the ac switch behind. my 93 hb doesn't have a wire harness to connect the switch to..
-FROST- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 11:11 PM   #28
MurderedOutHardBody
MurderedOut Moderator
 
MurderedOutHardBody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Greenville, North Carolina
Age: 34
Posts: 1,613
Vehicle: 98 sonoma, 2000 bagged durango, 86 bagged toyota
Thanks: 50
Thanked 112 Times in 90 Posts
Default

Hmmmmm it's been a while but my 93 did have it
__________________
1986 Toyota - bagged, 20s, in progress
2000 Durango - Project, bagged, billet 22s and 24s,
MurderedOutHardBody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 11:51 PM   #29
-FROST-
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: cali
Posts: 6
Vehicle: 1988 D21
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thats odd..mines doesnt have it..i checked behind where it plugs in to the main harness and nada..
-FROST- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 04:17 AM   #30
SkinnyG
UYFBR
 
SkinnyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Okanagan Valley - Canada, eh?!
Posts: 1,500
Vehicle: 1994 Hardbody
Thanks: 0
Thanked 204 Times in 147 Posts
Default

I think I had to root around a bit for mine, but it was there ('94).

Failing that, you could always snag the pigtail from the wreckers, and wire it in. AC was available for all the trucks, so it should be wired with the harness.
__________________
No longer an active member - The Hideous Hardbody has been sold
SkinnyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.