Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Model Specific > Hardbody Forum (D21)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2015, 04:55 AM   #1
pixelss
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: orlando
Posts: 79
Vehicle: hardbody - 1995
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default a/c: pressure switch

Guys,

So i'm getting ready to get my a/c working. When i bought the truck the condenser and others parts were missing.

I bought a new condenser, expansion tank, O-rings, belt, idle pulley. The system was open for a very long time, so i want to replace as much as i can. My questions is where can i get the a/c pressure switch?

Thank you
pixelss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 06:07 AM   #2
Longtooth
 
Longtooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 864
Vehicle: Nissan Hardbody 1989
Thanks: 33
Thanked 85 Times in 77 Posts
Default

That should be able to get at most parts store. A/C pressure switches are a common thing on most cars.
Longtooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 06:19 AM   #3
nuron
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: nw
Posts: 35
Vehicle: 95 king cab v6
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Good luck with the search. For some reason, my parts stores couldn't find the pressure switch and rockauto didn't have it either. I wanted to replace that part for peace of mind when I redid my A/C system but ended up using the original one.
nuron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 01:58 PM   #4
byubrett
 
byubrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: La.
Posts: 49
Vehicle: 86.5 Nissan D21 4X4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Just did my A/C yesterday. I believe on Rock Auto's site, you will have to look under electrical/switches for the pressure switch. The switch I bought from Advanced is the wrong one, and hopefully I can get a refund on it. (never opened the sealed bag it came in)

My truck came from the factory with A/C in '86, over the past 29 years it developed a slow leak,so yesterday was the day to do the A/C. ( changed the expansion valve, drier and pressure switch, + changed all o-rings.) Pulled a vacuum on the system for about 45 minutes, the system held pressure for another half hour, then I charged it with 134-a and now it's like a fridge on wheels!

There are some very informative posts regarding A/C repair on this forum, search for one by cadillacdude, it worked for me.

Brett
byubrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
cadillacdude1975 (07-27-2015)
Old 07-26-2015, 02:52 PM   #5
R2D21
 
R2D21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 525
Vehicle: Nissan D21 1990
Thanks: 51
Thanked 71 Times in 61 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by byubrett View Post
Just did my A/C yesterday. I believe on Rock Auto's site, you will have to look under electrical/switches for the pressure switch. The switch I bought from Advanced is the wrong one, and hopefully I can get a refund on it. (never opened the sealed bag it came in)

My truck came from the factory with A/C in '86, over the past 29 years it developed a slow leak,so yesterday was the day to do the A/C. ( changed the expansion valve, drier and pressure switch, + changed all o-rings.) Pulled a vacuum on the system for about 45 minutes, the system held pressure for another half hour, then I charged it with 134-a and now it's like a fridge on wheels!

There are some very informative posts regarding A/C repair on this forum, search for one by cadillacdude, it worked for me.

Brett
you should have done a vid or picture set, would be awesome for when I decide to tackle this
__________________
Improvise, Adapt, and Overcome
R2D21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 08:06 PM   #6
david29
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Spring(Houston), Texas
Age: 50
Posts: 6,057
Vehicle: 1987 Nissan King Cab
Thanks: 28
Thanked 514 Times in 463 Posts
Default

I can get you one of those factory switches used. LMK if interested so I can pick one up and ship it to you. For a small fee of course.
__________________
My stable of Nissan trucks includes:
1987 Nissan King Cab(full frame off Restoration).
david29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 01:39 AM   #7
pixelss
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: orlando
Posts: 79
Vehicle: hardbody - 1995
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you guys for the responses. Can't find the a/c switch on rockauto, ebay, amazon. I just wanted to get a new one, I'm sure the one on mine works. I will be taking the truck to get tit done a a/c shop to ensure they vacuum the system.

david29: thank you, i let you know.
pixelss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 04:19 AM   #8
cadillacdude1975
The Gear Jammer
 
cadillacdude1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 48
Posts: 9,789
Vehicle: 87 D21 SE KC V6 2wd 5sp & 87 Pathfinder 4x4 SE
Thanks: 383
Thanked 1,168 Times in 1,077 Posts
Default

if your going 134a, be sure is the 134 switch. they are different in how they work with the ECM and the compressor cycling. both screw in to the ac drier and use the same connector.
cadillacdude1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 04:21 AM   #9
cadillacdude1975
The Gear Jammer
 
cadillacdude1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 48
Posts: 9,789
Vehicle: 87 D21 SE KC V6 2wd 5sp & 87 Pathfinder 4x4 SE
Thanks: 383
Thanked 1,168 Times in 1,077 Posts
Default

R2D21 read this.......... How to: Retrofitting A/C
cadillacdude1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
R2D21 (07-27-2015)
Old 07-27-2015, 04:24 AM   #10
cadillacdude1975
The Gear Jammer
 
cadillacdude1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 48
Posts: 9,789
Vehicle: 87 D21 SE KC V6 2wd 5sp & 87 Pathfinder 4x4 SE
Thanks: 383
Thanked 1,168 Times in 1,077 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuron View Post
Good luck with the search. For some reason, my parts stores couldn't find the pressure switch and rockauto didn't have it either. I wanted to replace that part for peace of mind when I redid my A/C system but ended up using the original one.
95 model? your truck should have been 134 to begin with, so the switch really isnt needed unless you know or suspect it was not working correctly.
cadillacdude1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.