Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Tech Area > Wiring and Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2015, 05:53 AM   #91
LURK3R
Blackfinger
 
LURK3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 126
Vehicle: D21 Hardbody '89
Thanks: 10
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Ok I have the ECM out of the truck that I pulled the dash out of. I know which pin off the ECM goes to the tach, but where does the ECM get tach signal, I can't see that in the diagrams. It only shows that it goes from something to a 2.2kohm resistor, then the ECM, then the cluster. Will the ECM also need power. I'm wondering if I need to open a new thread. Late model cluster to Carb Z24.
__________________


'89 Nissan Navara
Static 5 inches lowered
Z24 Carb

LURK3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 10:04 AM   #92
alabama_lowlife
Owner and Administrator
 
alabama_lowlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jack, alabama
Age: 40
Posts: 9,814
Vehicle: 2012 370Z, 1970 Datsun 521, 1995 Nissan Hardbody x2
Thanks: 814
Thanked 1,884 Times in 1,548 Posts
Default

What year is the donor truck?
__________________
alabama_lowlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2015, 10:06 AM   #93
LURK3R
Blackfinger
 
LURK3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 126
Vehicle: D21 Hardbody '89
Thanks: 10
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Donor truck is a 96.
__________________


'89 Nissan Navara
Static 5 inches lowered
Z24 Carb

LURK3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 03:34 AM   #94
808_PROjectZ
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Haleiwa, HI
Posts: 10
Vehicle: 1989 Nissan Hardbody NapZ
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I know this may be a stupid question but, do I just use the old plug from my 89 hardbody and cut the harness after the plug in, then just splice the old wires to the new side of the wire harness? Please let me know, about to try and install the dash I pulled from a 97 hardbody
808_PROjectZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2015, 10:03 AM   #95
alabama_lowlife
Owner and Administrator
 
alabama_lowlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jack, alabama
Age: 40
Posts: 9,814
Vehicle: 2012 370Z, 1970 Datsun 521, 1995 Nissan Hardbody x2
Thanks: 814
Thanked 1,884 Times in 1,548 Posts
Default

You cut the plugs off your old (89) harness and discard them. You splice your old wires to the new (97) plugs. Just make sure you only cut one wire at a time to keep from getting confused.
__________________
alabama_lowlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
808_PROjectZ (08-31-2015)
Old 08-31-2015, 07:48 PM   #96
808_PROjectZ
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Haleiwa, HI
Posts: 10
Vehicle: 1989 Nissan Hardbody NapZ
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Ok, thanks alabama_lowlife, gonna try work on that today.
808_PROjectZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 02:20 PM   #97
CasanovaGDP
 
CasanovaGDP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dallastown PA
Posts: 557
Vehicle: 86.5 Nissan Hardbody
Thanks: 49
Thanked 55 Times in 52 Posts
Default

After doing the swap everything works for the most part, my speedo is reading 10mph with the key on, the speedo climbs when I turn the lights on. Possible bad ground somewhere?
CasanovaGDP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2015, 03:01 PM   #98
alabama_lowlife
Owner and Administrator
 
alabama_lowlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jack, alabama
Age: 40
Posts: 9,814
Vehicle: 2012 370Z, 1970 Datsun 521, 1995 Nissan Hardbody x2
Thanks: 814
Thanked 1,884 Times in 1,548 Posts
Default

Yeah, I would make sure all the ground wires from the new pigtails are connected to a ground wire from the harness.
__________________
alabama_lowlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 10:29 AM   #99
reesseebabyy
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3
Vehicle: Nissan Hardbody 1990
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry for the newbie question but also have a 90 hb swapping dash to a 95 hb.

1. does the dash fit perfect or does it need to be shaved a little?
2. what if i don't have the harness for the new clusters? can i get them some where else?
reesseebabyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 11:43 AM   #100
REYXTC
 
REYXTC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 299
Vehicle: 88 Hardbody
Thanks: 11
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

Dash fits perfect but you will need the pigtails. Ppl sell them on here
__________________
Hydroz only!
BOTTOM B$$$H
REYXTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.