Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Model Specific > Hardbody Forum (D21)

Old 07-04-2018, 03:30 AM   #1
suburbboy

Vehicle: Nissan D21 1994
Default Newb tries to fix fender rust

Hi everyone!

Just got a 1994 Nissan Hardbody 4x4 (V6 3.0L Extended cab) yesterday. My first truck! I'm super excited about it. My grandfather was a mechanic and although I'm still new to it all, I'm eager to learn.

As you can probably tell, my fenders all have a bit of rust so that's my first project. Would love your suggestions on how to get rid of them.

Should I:
a) cut the rust out and trim it (maybe this would let me put in 32s? Would be pumped if I could install those without a lift, otherwise 31s will have to do)
b) cut the rust out and install a patch kit
c) cut the rust out and put on fender flares
d) Buy new fenders
e) Something else

Some considerations: I'm hoping to be pretty cost-efficient with this at the moment so ideally this doesn't put me over a couple hundred bucks. I want to be able to do some basic offroading so if I could find a way to do this fix in a way that accomodates 32s that would be awesome (otherwise I'll stick to 31s)

Thanks!

suburbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 05:19 AM   #2
Deerhurst
4/86 SE-V6 2 tone 4x4 HB

Vehicle: 1986.5 Hardbody

31s for with no mods. I'd expect 32s to clear as long as you have a proper offset and do not try to flex the truck out.
VG33i
Deerhurst is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 10:03 AM   #3
XoXSciFiGuy

Vehicle: 1997 D21 King Cab XE 2WD

Grind, file, sand, or cut out every bit of rust until you reach shiny metal. All of it. Gone. It's cancer, get rid of it.

THEN patch and paint it. If you can't patch it right away after doing this, just primer it for now and think about it.

1997 King Cab XE, 5-sp, canopy, AC/PS, KA24E, 113,000 miles. Need a technical manual? Drop me a message. Chilton's for amateurs.
XoXSciFiGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 04:46 PM   #4